Your Weekend Brain Food

Brain-food-list

I would like to think that the kind of people who enjoy Why? Because Science also enjoy a good glass of wine or seven over the weekend. I imagine that during the week, you’re all hard-working and hard-reading folk, but that the weekends turn you into debauched, raging party animals with an insatiable appetite for pole-dancing, vodka and name-soiling.

Oh wait, that’s me!

Regardless of your weekend shenanigans, however, what we should all do is be sure to keep our brains stimulated and happy and what better way to do that than reading blogs and watching videos that are educational AND funny.

FUNNY… did you get that? Most people tune out the minute they hear the word “educational.” What a terrible, terrible word. So, without further ado, here’s your weekend brain food my dear readers! Happy Friday!

Beautiful sexy girl drinking

Blog Posts

It’s Just Not Natural! Actually, being gay totally is! With more than 1,500 animal species in which homosexuality is well documented, being queer is not only fabulous, it’s totally natural!

How to Bake a DiamondLearn how to make your very own diamonds in this funny science blog with ingredients that include carbon, a shovel, patience and a degree in town planning.

Who You Gonna Call? Ghostbusters! What does science have to say about the existence of ghosts and should we believe the “evidence” put forward by shows like Ghosthunters? I know, dumb question, but this blog provides the sciencey answers.

Scary real ghost picture

Amazing Science Videos: Funny, Spell-binding, AWESOME

Eddie Izzard – Death Star CanteenEven Darth Vader has to eat, and so logically the Death Star would have had a canteen… or at least that’s the reckoning of comedian Eddie Izzard in this hilariously funny video with animated lego.

Fire in the Sky! National Geographic filmmakers Claus and Anneliese Possberg put together this outstanding time lapse video showing the aurora borealis (northern lights) dancing and crackling across the evening sky in Norway.

A Drunk History of Benjamin FranklinIf you found your own history lessons at school mind-numbingly boring (who didn’t?) then this epic and inebriated telling of the story of Benjamin Franklin’s kite experiment will have you paying attention like never before. Features funny actor Jack Black.

TED Talks: New Research Stops Bleeding ImmediatelyMedical inventor and a fellow of TED Joe Landolina explains his amazing innovation, which is a gel that can instantly stop bleeding in even life-threatening arterial wounds. Gross, but awesome demonstration!

Epic Rap Battles of History: Thomas Edison Vs. Nikola Tesla: Giants of science and industry, Thomas Edison and Nikola Tesla, verbally battle it out to a sick beat. In the end, you get to decide who wins!

Epic rap battles of history

Sciencey LOLs

Daily Dose of Funny Science # 10

Daily Dose of Funny Science # 11

Daily Dose of Funny Science # 12

21 thoughts on “Your Weekend Brain Food

  1. I’m new to the blogging world so this is my first read of your blog- but o my! I love it! Wonderful links to great blogs- thanks for making it easy for me, especially on a weekend! I agree, my brain has turned to mush after a long hard-working week! I’ll be tuning in again next Saturday! 😀

  2. It’s awesome to see scientific blogs. That’s why I’m trying to make one myself. To bad I’m not good with computers 😦 But I try my best. Hopefully it’ll work out. Wish me luck.

    • There were writers before computers. In fact, there were magnificent writers before even the typewriter was innovated. So don’t let confuddling modern technology get in the way! All the best, friend.

      • I dont and try not to. That’s why I try to read as much as I can whenever I can. Especially science things. if so, have any good recommendations?

      • Sounds great. I’ll check it out after I put up my next post. About some fun chemistry experiments you can do at home. You should check it out. Maybe try it out.

      • It is the correct link, thank you!

        I have a few tips for improving your blog, if you’re interested (and I hope you’ll excuse my audacity)…

        1. Include pictures and even videos to demonstrate what you’re explaining in the text. People get super bored when there’s no visual stimuli.
        2. Break your text up into paragraphs; it makes it more “manageable” to the eye.
        3. Reread your writing for grammatical and spelling errors.

        Tell me, what nationality are you?

      • I’ll take any advice I can. Constructive criticism helps. I would include pictures but I would have included some pictures but I was told the chance of law suits and all that stuff. You might be able to help me with that. As in some advise if you have any. And I’m not the best with grammar. Like I can write a sentence but language arts class yeah right. That’s my worst subject XD. Math and Science are my best. And I’m American. Thanks for any and all help. Much appreciated.

      • As long as you’re not using your blogs to make money, you can use any image you like. Try to include the image source where possible and add a short sentence at the end of your blog that says “All efforts have been made to find the original source of the images used and if anyone finds the source cited to be inaccurate, please contact me,” blah blah. You may receive a warning – Getty Images are full of shit – but if you source pictures on Google Images you should be fine. You’re using them for educational purposes anyway.

        Grammar is super important and while you don’t need to be a literary genius or a nazi about it, if it trips up your reader, people aren’t going to want to return to your site. I was tripped up quite a bit. So… run a spell check and always re-read your posts! Just some friendly advice!

  3. Haha, I love watching Epic Rap Battles of History. It’s interesting how they combined rap and actually historical facts to create such a work of art. I think I’ll check some of these posts out. Great job on making science and history more interesting for people!

Leave a Reply

